Performance Appraisal: Year 9

Organisation: Wala abode

Title: Mothering four children

Year or period covered:  December 2007 to December 2016

Time in present position: 9 years

Appraisee: Amakove

Appraiser: Management

  1. State your understanding of your main duties and responsibilities

To mother four children. I had initially applied for 2 children. One boy and one girl. The orders got mixed up and I got one boy and three girls. I accepted my fate and adjusted accordingly. I am not one to complain though. I just thought Management should factor this in when appraising my conduct.

  1. Has the past 9 years been good/bad/satisfactory or otherwise for you, and why?

The past year has been a haze to be honest. I look at the four kids and wonder when time flew. One time I am battling with colic and toilet training and the next I am battling with smart mouths and wall-climbing and constant fights. Overall, I’d say it has been satisfactory. I mean, sometimes I really do feel like giving them away and starting all over and then they just turn around and become these cherubic little rascals and surprise me time and time again! Like the days when Z1 out of the blue says, “Mommy, you are a good mommy!” or when Z3 is like, “Mom, can I help you wash the dishes?” which is often followed by, “Mom, that will be 10 shillings!” and that is a sure way to get me slam back to reality!

  1. What do you consider to be your most important achievements of the past year?

My biggest achievement is that they are ALIVE and so am I! I mean, they are not starving. They are not running around naked (well, actually, sometimes they do but that’s their choice and it often scares the neighbours as they prance around on the balcony. But I am teaching them self-expression. Does that count?)

The other achievement is that they can read and write. Means they are getting something from school. Sometimes, I forget to check their homework (dear Management, 4 children is not a joke) and I get lovely surprises like the day the boy wrote in his composition that I used to kill patients… I had a word with him about that, not to worry! No need for exposing family secrets. Since they have not repeated a class, I suspect they must be performing well in school.

  1. What do you like and dislike about working for this organisation?

Is this on record? Like, will this be held against me? Will the kids be taken away to a more deserving mother? No? Okay, here goes. I dislike the fact that I constantly have to think about them. Like, really? Can’t someone for once tell me, here, you sleep. I will pay the bills, I will take them to school, I will by food and so on and so forth. Just for once. Please? Can my request be considered by management?

I like the fact that we are many in this organisation. Misery loves company, not so? The others seem to think I am doing a pretty good job (appearances lie I tell you) so I’ll hang on to that!

  1. What elements of your job do you find most difficult?

When they are in pain for one reason or another and mommy cannot help them endure the pain. Oh, and when they ask for things that I cannot afford, like holidays in far off places. But I am working towards that.

Something else, when I wake up to find that they have outgrown their shoes and clothes in the middle of the month! Like how do they even do that!

  1. What elements of your job interest you the most, and least?

The fact that no two days are the same! That gives me a chance to be better every day! It also means I can be quite flexible, not so? (Please add that to my score sheet!)

I hate the part where I have to pay the bills. Like my whole life is about paying bills! Please tell me that they will take me for holidays when I grow old…

  1. What do you consider to be your most important aims and tasks in the next year?

Again, next year, I plan to keep them alive and healthy! I prefer to stay realistic with my goals.

  1. What action could be taken to improve your performance in your current position by you, and your boss?

From me: I will improve on my optimism. Try to see the glass half full.

From my boss: can I be paid please?

  1. What kind of work or job would you like to be doing in one/two/five years time?

Travelling in a cruise ship?

  1. What sort of training/experiences would benefit you in the next year? Not just job-skills – also your natural strengths and personal passions you’d like to develop – you and your work can benefit from these.

Resilience training

How to see the glass half full?

How to answer those awkward questions.

  1. Score your own capability or knowledge in the following areas in terms of your current role requirements (1-3 = poor, 4-6 = satisfactory, 7-9 = good, 10 = excellent). If appropriate bring evidence with you to the appraisal to support your assessment. The second section can be used if working towards new role requirements.
    1. commercial judgement 1
    2. time management what does this mean? Do you know I have 4 kids!
    4. planning, budgeting and forecasting 6
    5. reporting and administration 3. Nanny runs our house
    6. communication skills 10 I can shout even when someone is a foot away.
    7. delegation skills 10
    8. IT/equipment/machinery skills 4 but my son is teaching me and I am a fast learner
    9. meeting deadlines/commitments 4 sometimes kids come first.
    10. creativity 10 necessity is the mother of invention!
    11. problem-solving and decision-making 7. Constantly solving wrangles
    12. team-working and developing others 7 four kids gives you a team. Synchronising them to just wake up, shower and go to school, counts!
    13. energy, determination and work-rate 10 I am still here. With them.
    14. steadiness under pressure 10 See number 13
    15. leadership and integrity 10 See number 13
    16. adaptability, flexibility, and mobility 10 See number 13
    17. personal appearance and image 1 What’s that! Do you know I have four children!
  2. In light of your current capabilities, your performance against past objectives, and your future personal growth and/or job aspirations, what activities and tasks would you like to focus on during the next year. Again, also think of development and experiences outside of job skills – related to personal aims, fulfilment, passions.

I’d like a holiday, please. And money. Lots of money

Signed and dated by appraisee:  Amakove             and by appraiser: Management
Grade/recommendation/summary as applicable: Be nice to me! I’ve tried!

Happy Mother’s Day!

How Performance Appraisal Should Work in an Organization:

One thought on “Performance Appraisal: Year 9

  1. Pingback: Motherhood appraisal….LizWala style – Kuolewa

Leave a Reply

